Library Reads for February 2018...


To see the full list go to:  http://libraryreads.org/

Check your local library for the titles:  Irish Public Libraries


Announcing the
February 2018

LibraryReads list!

February's LibraryReads Favorite is:
The Great Alone
A Novel
by Kristin Hannah

(St. Martin's Press)
“Leni and her troubled family embark on a new way of life in Alaska's wilderness in 1974 - hoping this is finally the solution for her troubled, POW father. In Alaska, Leni and her family are tested and when change comes to their small community her father's anger threatens to explode and divide the town.This is a beautifully written novel, descriptive and engaging with well-developed characters and a strong sense of place.” 
Alissa Williams, Morton Public Library, Morton, IL

 And now, the rest of the LibraryReads 
February Top 10:
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones
(Algonquin Books)

“Celestial and Roy are newly married professionals leaning in to a bright future when Roy is convicted of a crime he did not commit. This is not a heroes vs. villains tale with a tidy resolution. It is a complicated, messy, moving, and thought-provoking story about love, family, and the wide-reaching effects of incarceration. Book clubs get ready!”

Jennifer Alexander, St. Louis County Library, St. Louis, MO
The French Girl
by Lexie Elliott
(Berkley)

“Six friends from Oxford University spend an idyllic week in the French countryside that ends with a missing neighbor, the enigmatic Severine. Fast forward ten years and Severine turns up. Or rather her skeleton does in a well on the property. All six friends are suspects. Will the loyalties hold and who put Severine in the well? This is a fun, taut thriller.”

Jennifer Dayton, Darien Library, Darien, CT
Force of Nature
A Novel

by Jane Harper
(Flatiron Books)

"When Detective Falk learns that an informant went missing during a corporate team building exercise in the bush, he realizes that she tried to call him in the middle of the night. Harper once again creates a compelling, fast-paced, and atmospheric mystery set in a remote wilderness area of Australia. Perfect for fans of Nevada Barr and Paul Doiron. Highly recommended."

Vicki Nesting, St.Charles Parish Library, Destrehan, LA 
Surprise Me
A Novel
by Sophie Kinsella
(The Dial Press)

“Kinsella's newest heroine has met and married Mr. Right - now how to spend the next 68 years? When Sylvie launches Project Surprise Me, she just might find that there's always more to learn about the ones you love. Told in Kinsella's trademark charming, relatable style.”

Ariel Kurst, Great River Regional Library, St. Cloud, MN
Tarnished City
by Vic James
(Del Rey)

Tarnished City, a contemporary fantasy with a healthy dose of world-building, is just as disturbing as its predecessor, Gilded Cage. I couldn't resist diving deeper into the dark world of Equals and Slaves. James has pushed the characters in new ways, which makes the story riveting, intense, dark, and completely entrancing.”

Monicah Fraterna, La Porte Public Library, La Porte, IN 
As Bright As Heaven
by Susan Meissner
(Berkley)


“Beautifully written, heartbreaking story of four women in Philadelphia in 1918 during the Spanish Flu. I loved this book, as I have other books by Meissner and would highly recommend to anyone who loves historical fiction.”

Cathy Branciforte, Ramsey Free Public Library,
Ramsey, NJ
How to Stop Time
A Novel

by Matt Haig
(Viking)      
                      

“Even though there is something extraordinary about Tom Hazard and his aging process, the problems and insights he experiences as he goes through life are universal. Love, memory, and time play tricks on us all as this novel illustrates so exquisitely. This is an engaging, sweeping love story with all the elements of a great historical/time travel novel. For fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life.”

Mary Coe, Fairfield Woods Branch Library, Fairfield, CT 
Summer Hours at the Robbers Library
A Novel

by Sue Halpern
(Harper Perennial)

“Kit is a librarian who closes herself off from emotions and people until she meets Sunny, assigned to the library for community service. Add in a group of regulars in the library and the result is an absorbing story of developing friendships and the unveiling of secrets. Kit's story unfolds as we meet many quirky
characters in this story of love, loss, and hope.”


Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY
Educated
A Memoir

by Tara Westover
(Random House)

“In her memoir, Westover recounts her childhood growing up in a strict Mormon family, ruled by an erratic father, and living off the grid in Idaho. Westover compellingly sketches her years growing up, her  relationships with siblings, encounters in the town nearby, and the events that eventually drove her to leave and pursue formal education. For fans of Jeannette Walls'The Glass Castle.” 


Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious

Library Hours from Monday 29th January...

MONDAY - THURSDAY
08:00 - 20:00

FRIDAY 08:00 - 17:00

Closed Saturdays

Closed Sundays and Bank Holidays

For full details of library hours, exhibitions and events go to:
Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious

Library Hours Monday 15 January - Friday 26 January...

Monday 15 January - Friday 26 January
9.15am - 5pm

Closed Saturday and Sunday


From Monday 29 January normal term time hours resume
Monday - Thursday 8am - 8pm
Friday 8am - 5pm

Closed Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays.

For full details of opening hours, events and exhibitions go to: Library Hours
Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious

Library is a Silent Zone from Tuesday 2nd January until exams finish. See opening hours...


From Tuesday 2nd January all areas of the library with the exception of the group study area off the mezzanine will be
SILENT study space until the exams have finished.

Please respect the rights of others to concentrate and study while in the library.

We appreciate your co-operation in this and wish you every success in your exams.

from The Library Team

LIBRARY HOURS

 From Tuesday 2nd to Saturday 13th January 2018

Monday - Friday 8am - 8pm

Saturday 10am - 5pm

Please note we are open until 8pm on Friday 5th and 12th January

For full details of  library opening hours go to:

Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious

Library Christmas Hours December/ January Exams....



LIBRARY HOURS  DECEMBER  / JANUARY 
Monday 18th - Thursday 21st December
9.15am - 5pm
Friday 22nd December
9.15am - 3.30pm

Saturday 23rd December 2017 -  Monday 1st  January 2018
Closed for Christmas Holiday


 Re open Tuesday 2nd January 2018

Tuesday 2nd Jan - Friday 12th January
Monday - Friday
8am - 8pm
(No borrowing before 10am)

Friday late nights 5th and 12th January 8am - 8pm
(On Fridays desk service is until 5pm)

Saturday 6th and 13th January 
10am - 5pm

Closed Sundays

From Tuesday 2nd January until exams are over, all areas of the library with the exception of group study area off the the mezzanine, will be a SILENT ZONE
Library Staff wish all our users a  Happy Christmas and New Year and Good Luck in your exams.
Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious

Library Hours from Monday 4th December 2017.....


MONDAY - THURSDAY    0800 - 20:00
FRIDAY    08:00 - 17:00
SATURDAY 9th and 16th December  CLOSED

MONDAY 18th December - Thursday 21st  December
09:15 - 17:00
Friday 22nd December  09:15 - 15:30

For full details of all library hours, exhibitions and events go to:
LIBRARY HOURS
Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious

Exam Revision Workshop Saturday 9th December 10-12pm

Worried about the upcoming exams?
Go to the Exam Revision Workshop on 9th December at 10 am.
Register at the Department of Lifelong Learning Office on the ground floor of the Main Building.
The workshop will cover:
 Tips and approaches to your exam revision
 Managing your workload
 Helpful memory techniques
 Exam timetables and how to access them
 Transport to the Basketball Arena and what to expect when you get there
 Managing yourself on the day of the exam
 How your exams will be marked
 Demystifying GPA calculations
 Appeals and resits

Please contact the Part-time Office by phone at 01 404 2101 or by e-mail at LLL@it-tallaght.ie if you have any questions.

LibraryReads top ten list Winter 2017

LibraryReads has announced its top ten list for Winter 2017.
The list includes new titles from some well known authors including Andy Weir, Elizabeth Berg, Felicity Hayes-McCoy, Mary Balogh, Lee Child, Louise Erdrich, Matthew Weiner, Caroline Fraser, Arnaldur Indridason and S. A. Chakraborty.

To see the full list go to:  http://libraryreads.org/

Check your local library for the titles:  Irish Public Libraries
Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious

Library open Saturdays from November 11th...

The Library will open on Saturdays from 10am - 5pm starting on Saturday 11th November 2017

Library Hours
Monday -Thursday 8am - 8pm
Friday - 8am - 5pm
Saturday 10am - 5pm
Closed on Sundays and Bank Holidays
For full details of library hours, exhibitions and events go to:
 Library Opening Hours 
Delicious Bookmark this on Delicious

ITT Short Story Competition 2017 - Winners Announced.

The top three stories in the 2017 Short Story Competition were announced at a ceremony in the Civic Theatre on the 12th of October. The results were:

1st Prize: Tony Devlin - 'Coronary Care'

2nd Prize: Jennifer Moore - 'Game Over'

3rd Prize: Ursula Brunetti - 'A History of Art and Sex'

Many thanks to competition judge Colm Keegan and especially to the writers who came to read on the day.


Here's Colm with Pat Nolan reading from the wryly funny 'Plighting Eddie's Troth'.




And Dee Roycroft with the wondrous, heartrending 'I Sent A Pray To God'.


Look out for the 2017 anthology - available soon!